How to enable delete confirmation message in Windows 11

How to enable delete confirmation message in Windows 11. By default, Windows 11 does not display the deletion confirmation message. In other words, when you try to delete a file, the file will be moved to the recycle bin immediately without your confirmation.

Enable delete confirmation dialog in Windows 11

Although deleting a file by clicking or pressing a button without showing any confirmation dialog will make the whole process faster, you may end up deleting the file accidentally because you will not be asked for any confirmation before deleting the file.

If you are worried about this, fortunately, you can enable the delete confirmation dialog again. Yes, you can configure Windows 11 to display a delete confirmation message (in a dialog box) before moving selected files to the Recycle Bin.

The following is how to enable the delete confirmation dialog in Windows 11.

Perform a right-click on the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop and then click Properties.

How to enable delete confirmation message in Windows 11

In the General tab, select the Display delete confirmation dialog checkbox and then click the Apply button.

That’s all! From now on, Windows 11 will display a delete confirmation dialog whenever you try to delete a file.

Note: As shown in the picture above, the Recycle Bin Properties dialog box also provides an option to permanently delete files without moving them to the Recycle Bin. Select the “Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted” check box, if you want to permanently delete the file without moving it to the recycle bin, click Apply.

Tip 1: By default, Windows 11 will move all deleted files to the Recycle Bin. If you want to bypass the recycle bin and delete files permanently (without enabling the above option), please use the Shift + Delete hotkey after selecting the file.

Tip 2: To restore deleted files to the recycle bin, open the recycle bin, right-click the file you want to restore to its original location, and then click the “restore” option.

Three easy ways to delete files in Windows 11

  1. Right-click the file you want to delete, and then click the “Delete” icon to delete the file. If you enable the delete confirmation dialog, you will see the same content. Click the “Yes” button to delete the file.
  2. Select the file you want to delete, and then press the Delete key.
  3. Select the file you want to delete, and then use the Shift + Delete keys to delete the selected file immediately without moving it to the recycle bin.

More: How to enable Do Not Disturb mode while driving on iPhone.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.